These Are The Republicans Who Could Be The Next Speaker

House Republicans are preparing to choose a new Speaker following the removal of Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) from the position on Tuesday and his decision not to run for the role again. Republicans plan to hold an internal candidate forum on Tuesday and an election on Wednesday.

Speaker’s top GOP contenders include leading House Republican Scalise, who has a proven track record of bringing together diverse viewpoints within the Conference to build consensus. Scalise is considered more ideologically conservative than McCarthy, benefiting from his extensive experience in House GOP leadership and the accompanying infrastructure.

Scalise has strong backers, including Majority Whip Tom Emmer (R-Minn.) and Rep. Tony Gonzales (R-Texas). Multiple GOP sources have indicated that he has been discussing his interest in pursuing the post with members.

Jordan, the House Judiciary Committee chairman, may be an attractive choice for staunch conservatives. He served as the first-ever chairman of the House Freedom Caucus. Reps. Jim Banks (R-Ind.) and Thomas Massie (R-Ky.) have supported him for the job.

He has been among the leaders pushing for fiscal discipline his entire career.

Hern serves as the chair of the Republican Study Committee, which is the House’s largest conservative caucus. His name briefly came up during the election in January. Rep. Michael McCaul (R-Texas) stated that Hern had clarified that he was running.

Trump’s name has been mentioned as a potential Speaker on occasion. Rep. Troy Nehls, a Republican from Texas, announced his intention to nominate Donald Trump for the position of Speaker. Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene, a Republican from Georgia, expressed her support for Trump’s candidacy for Speaker on Wednesday. House GOP members have mentioned several other potential candidates for Speaker in passing.

Emmer had been rumored as a potential candidate for Speaker, but he confirmed Wednesday that he is supporting Scalise for Speaker and seeking his spot as House majority leader.